

# Republic of the Philippines

# REGIONAL STATISTICS COMMITTEE

Cordillera Administrative Region

## RSC-CAR Resolution No. 04 Series of 2017

# RECONSTITUTING THE REGIONAL STATISTICS COMMITTEE (RSC) – CORDILLERA ADMINISTRATIVE REGION (CAR) AND APPROVING ADDITIONAL MEMBERS

WHEREAS, Republic Act No. 10625 otherwise known as the Philippine Statistical Act of 2013 created the Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA) Board as the highest policy-making body on statistical matters, and mandates the PSA to prescribe appropriate statistical frameworks and establish mechanisms for statistical coordination at the regional and local levels:

WHEREAS, PSA Board Resolution No. 05, Series of 2015 established the Regional Statistics Committees (RSCs) to provide guidance and direction to regional/local statistical development activities, and serve as policy-making body on statistical issues and matters at the regional levels with the following composition:

Chair

: Regional Director, National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) / Executive Director, Regional Planning and Development Office (RPDO), Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao

Vice Chair: Regional Director, Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA)

Members: Division Chiefs from the following agencies:

- Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP)
- 2. Department of Agriculture (DA)
- 3. Department of Budget and Management (DBM)
- 4. Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR)
- 5. Department of Education (DepEd)
- 6. Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG)
- 7. Department of Health (DOH)
- 8. Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE)
- 9. Department of Tourism (DOT)
- 10. Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH)
- 11. Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD)
- 12. Department of Trade and Industry (DTI)
- 13. Commission on Higher Education (CHED)
- 14. Technical Skills and Development Authority (TESDA)

WHEREAS, the same Resolution allows the RSC to modify its composition to provide flexibility, and provides representation from other regional line agencies (RLAs), City/Provincial Planning and Development Offices (C/PPDOs), State Universities and Colleges (SUCs), and the private sector;

WHEREAS, during the first RSC Summit held last September 21, 2016 the reconstitution of the RSC was proposed with the regional directors as members instead of the

Mito

m

RSC-CAR Resolution No. 04, Series of 2017 Page 1 of 4 division chiefs, carrying over the powers and functions of the RSC as provided for in PSA Board Resolution No. 05, Series of 2015;

WHEREAS, after sufficient consultation and coordination with the RSCs on the RSC reconstitution, PSA Board Resolution No. 03 was approved last February 14, 2017 and reconstituted the RSC with the following composition:

Chair

: Regional Director, National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) / Executive Director, Regional Planning and Development Office (RPDO), Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao

Vice Chair: Regional Director, Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA

Members : Regional Directors from the following agencies:

- 1. Bureau of Local Government and Finance (BLGF)
- 2. Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP)
- 3. Department of Agriculture (DA)
- 4. Department of Budget and Management (DBM)
- 5. Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR)
- 6. Department of Education (DepEd)
- 7. Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG)
- 8. Department of Health (DOH)
- 9. Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE)
- 10. Department of Tourism (DOT)
- 11. Department of Science and Technology (DOST)
- 12. Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH)
- 13. Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD)
- 14. Department of Trade and Industry (DTI)
- 15. Commission on Higher Education (CHED)
- 16. Technical Skills and Development Authority (TESDA)

Representatives who shall be appointed by the RSC Chairperson for a term of three (3) years with possible reappointment from the:

- 1. Provincial Planning and Development Office (PPDO)
- 2. State Universities and Colleges (SUCs)
- 3. Private Sector

WHEREAS, the Resolution further provides that in cases where agencies do not have Regional Directors, the regional official with equivalent rank or the immediate next-in-rank official shall be the member;

WHEREAS, the reconstituted RSCs shall carry over the following powers and functions as provided for in PSA Board Resolution No. 05, Series of 2015:

- Oversee the implementation in the region of policy decisions made by the PSA Board and the adoption of prescribed statistical standard methodologies and classification systems;
- Formulate statistical policies designed to resolve local statistical issues and recommend workable schemes towards the improvement of local statistics;
- Institute measures to strengthen the statistical capability of the local statistical system including the personnel thereof;

1/4



- d. Elevate to the PSA Board statistical matters which cannot be resolved at the local level:
- e. Create inter-agency statistical working groups, as the need arises, that could attend to technical issues and problems, and supervise the activities of these working groups:
- f. Meet at least once a quarter, at such date, time, and place it may decide; and
- g. Submit periodic reports to the PSA.

WHEREAS, PSA Board Resolution No.03, Series of 2017 allows the RSC to modify its composition to provide flexibility in its operations;

WHEREAS, the memberships of the following RLAs, SUCs, CPDO / PPDOs, and the private sector representative are deemed necessary for a more effective coordination and harmonized statistical development and operations within the region, and therefore shall be added/included in the Reconstituted RSC-CAR:

#### RIAS

- 1. Mines and Geosciences Bureau (MGB)
- 2. Philippine Economic Zone Authority (PEZA)
- 3. National Commission on Indigenous Peoples (NCIP)
- 4. Commission on Population (PopCom)
- 5. Police Regional Office Cordillera (PROCOR)

#### SUCs

- 1. Benguet State University (BSU)
- 2. University of the Philippines Baguio Cordillera Studies Center (UP-CSC)

#### C/PPDOs

- Abra Provincial Planning and Development Office
- 2. Baguio City Planning and Development Office
- 3. Benguet Provincial Planning and Development Office
- 4. Apayao Provincial Planning and Development Office
- 5. Ifugao Provincial Planning and Development Office
- 6. Kalinga Provincial Planning and Development Office
- 7. Mountain Province Provincial Planning and Development Office

### Private Sector Representative

 Northern Luzon Cooperative Education and Development Center (NORLU CEDEC)

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED that the Committee reconstitute the RSC-CAR with the abovementioned additional members;

APPROVED this 24th day of May 2017 in Baguio City, Philippines.

Certified True and Correct:

ALDRIN FEDERICO R. BAHIT, JR. RSC-CAR Head of Secretariat (OIC Chief, Statistical Operations and Coordination Division, PSA-CAR)

Attested:

VILLAFE P. ALIBUYOG
RSC-CAR Vice-Chair
(Regional Director, PSA-CAR)

Approved:

MILAGROS A. RIMANDO, CESO II RSC-CAR Chairperson and (Regional Director, NEDA-CAR)

ATTACHED PSA Board Resolution No. 03, Series of 2017